If you’ve gone dairy free for any reason, you’ll be happy to know that traditional graham crackers are dairy free! But sadly not vegan, since many contain honey. 

dairy free graham crackers

Most popular brands with dairy free options are: Honey Maid, Nabisco and Kroger. And actually, most brands of graham crackers are made using no milk products. However some do contain traces of milk and milk ingredients. Keep reading for a long list of dairy free graham crackers.

If you’re also gluten free, there are brands that carry gluten free graham crackers! Or you may opt to make your own.

I love using marshmallows, graham crackers and dairy free chocolate or extra dark chocolate to make a dairy free s’more. 

This post may contain affiliate links and as an Amazon associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

What are Graham Crackers

They are a sweet cracker made with graham flour which is a coarse ground whole wheat flour. Originally they were made as more of a cracker to give sustenance. Now they are more like the sweet digestive biscuits.

The crackers are often flavoured with honey or cinnamon, while some are chocolate. And they range in color from a light brown to dark brown. 

Dairy-Free Graham Cracker Options 

Since most classic graham cracker brands are a processed food they are actually made without dairy. Here are all the brands and flavours you can safely try if you’re allergic to dairy or lactose intolerant.

Honeymaid Graham Crackers 

Yes, they are dairy free! Many of these listed are also the common ingredients in most graham-crackers. 

  • Ingredients include: “UNBLEACHED ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE {VITAMIN B1}, RIBOFLAVIN {VITAMIN B2}, FOLIC ACID), GRAHAM FLOUR (WHOLE GRAIN WHEAT FLOUR), SUGAR, SOYBEAN OIL, HONEY, LEAVENING (BAKING SODA AND/OR CALCIUM PHOSPHATE), SALT, SOY LECITHIN, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR.”

Nabisco Grahams Original (buy here)

Partake Foods Classic Grahams (buy here)

Kellogg’s Grahams (buy here)

Kinnikinniks S’Moreables Graham Style Crackers (buy here)

Benton’s Honey Graham Crackers (buy here)

Happy Belly Honey Graham Crackers (buy here)

Teddy Graham’s (buy here)

Yes Teddy grahams are dairy free. And a fun snack for kids. They have four options: 

  • Teddy Grahams Honey
  • Teddy Grahams Chocolate Chip
  • Teddy Grahams Cinnamon
  • Teddy Grahams Chocolate

Kroger Graham Crackers

Annie’s Grahams

They have 3 dairy-free graham options and are organic.

  • Annie’s Organic Honey Graham Crackers (buy here)
  • Annie’s Organic Cinnamon Graham Crackers (buy here)
  • Annie’s Organic Bunny Graham Snacks, Neapolitan (buy here)

Walmart Grahams (disclaimer: may contain trace amounts of milk)

  • No milk products listed in either the honey or the cinnamon grahams ingredients list. But both have a disclaimer for traces of milk.
  • Great Value Honey Graham Crackers (buy here)
  • Great Value Cinnamon Grahams (buy here)

Vegan Graham Cracker Brands (also Dairy Free)

Unfortunately Honey Maid graham crackers don’t have a vegan choice. So instead you’ll have to check out these brands that have a vegan option. I made sure to read through the ingredients list for ingredients that may not be vegan friendly. I listed any concerns I had under each brand.

Things to watch out for as a vegan:

  • Whether or not the sugar was processed using bone char.
  • Honey
  • Artificial flavors can sometimes contain derivatives from animals.
  • Palm oil, as it can be produced using methods that are not environmentally friendly.

These Brands Make Vegan Graham Crackers:

Nabisco Original Grahams (buy here)

Partake Foods Classic Grahams (buy here)

Kroger Original Graham Crackers (buy here)

Annie’s Organic Bunny Graham Snacks, Neapolitan (buy here)

Kellog’s Original Grahams (buy here)

Nairn’s

  • Nairn’s Gluten Free Original Grahams (made with sustainable palm oil. Disclaimer: may contain traces of milk)
  • Nairn’s Gluten Free Stem Ginger Oat Grahams (buy here)

Great Value Fudge Graham Cookies (buy here)

  • contains palm oil and may contain traces of milk

These brands use no animal products in their vegan graham crackers. So you don’t have to worry about honey or any other non-vegan ingredients.

food, eat, diet-2202365.jpg

Homemade Graham Crackers Recipes

If you have celiac disease or can’t have even a hint of dairy products, make them to ensure that you don’t get dairyed or glutened. If you wonder, are graham crackers dairy free? Here are recipes you can make at home, to make sure they have not had any cross contamination.

Dairy Free: dairy-free graham crackers recipe

  • The dry ingredients include: all purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, fine sea salt, cinnamon, light brown sugar. Wet ingredients: vegan butter, water and maple syrup.

Gluten Free Dairy Free:  homemade gluten-free graham crackers

  • It uses coconut sugar, baking soda, sea salt, ground cinnamon, maple syrup, molasses, coconut oil, oat flour, arrowroot starch & ground flaxseed.
  • Use it to make a gluten-free graham cracker crust

Vegan: homemade vegan graham cracker recipe 

  • Ingredients: all purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, fine sea salt, cinnamon, brown sugar. Wet ingredients: vegan butter, water and maple syrup.

in all the vegan and dairy free recipes you can substitute oat milk, almond milk for the water. Use light or dark brown sugar in place of the sugar. Or add a little bit of cinnamon or even cocoa powder to change up the flavour.

Is a Graham Crust Dairy Free? 

Most often a graham crumb crust is not dairy free. One of the three main ingredients is butter.  

Don’t worry though you can easily make your own dairy free graham pie crusts. Simply use plant butter or coconut oil to replace the real butter in any recipe.

Here’s a great recipe you’re looking for a flakey dairy free pie crust.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *