Gluten Free Oreos, are they dairy free and vegan?

The short answer, yes! Milk’s favorite cookie, the new gluten free Oreos are both dairy free and vegan!

Made without milk or animal products they are a wonderful option snack on. 

They are made “with real cocoa and a blend of gluten free flour”. With all the taste of nostalgia resealable packs, they come in three gluten free/dairy free choices: mint, double stuff and regular. 

Regular Oreo cookies are also suitable for people with dairy allergies and those on a vegan diet.

If you have celiac disease and are highly sensitive to gluten you may want to opt for a gluten free brand like Glutino’s

While the gluten-free Oreo cookies have many glowing reviews on the Oreo website, not all were positive.

This post may contain affiliate links and as an Amazon associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Ingredients in Gluten-Free Version

The ingredients listed in gluten free Oreos are:

“Ingredients: sugar, white rice flour, tapioca starch, palm oil, soybean/and or canola oil, whole oat flour, cornstarch, cocoa (processed with alkali powder), invert sugar, soy lecithin, baking soda, salt, xanthan gum, chocolate, artificial flavor. Contains: soy.”

None of the ingredients are milk products or derivatives of dairy! So yes gluten free Oreos are dairy free.

They are also vegan. Although I know palm oil and how the sugar was processed may be a concern for some vegans.

How to make oat flour

Is Whole Oat Flour Gluten Free?

Oats are naturally gluten free, so oat flour is gluten free if it’s processed properly (cross contamination with wheat/gluten can happen during harvest).

How are they Made?

“According to the manufacturer, Oreo cookies are made with GFCO certified gluten-free oats and manufactured in a GFCO certified facility.” Which should be safe for most individuals with food allergies.

However, according to the gluten free watchdog, Nabisco won’t disclose more information about how the manufacturing process for their oats is conducted. Read more about their concerns if you are highly sensitive to gluten

Risks For a Celiac with Severe Gluten Sensitivity

If you have a non-celiac gluten sensitivity, then the iconic treat is safe to eat like the packaging states. But if you are celiac, I did read reviews on the Oreo site, that may raise some concerns.

Some buyers made claims that they had reactions to the Oreo chocolate wafer cookies. Much like they would to gluten. If you have celiac disease, you will have to decide if they are safe for you.

Where Can I Buy Them?

If you’re looking to purchase Oreo gluten free chocolate sandwich cookies, grocery stores like trader joe’s carry them. I’ve also found them at Walmart, Target, Kroger and Whole Foods. And of course so many places online!

Brands Of Gluten-Free Sandwich Cookies (and DF)

Here are some dairy-free gluten-free chocolate sandwich cookies to try. One ingredients list had a disclaimer for may contain milk. 

Gluten Free Oreos in: Original, Mint Creme & Double Stuff

  • Gluten free, dairy free & vegan

Glutino’s: Gluten Free Chocolate Creme Cookies & Gluten Free Vanilla Creme Cookies

  • Gluten free & dairy free. NOT vegan. 
  • Website says not certified vegan and contains palm oil.

Simple Truth Gluten free chocolate flavored sandwich cookies 

  • Gluten free, dairy free & vegan. Slight chance of cross contamination with milk, so don’t try if you’re highly sensitive to dairy.
  • No dairy products listed in ingredients but has the disclaimer “may contain: coconut, milk”

Kinnikinnick KinniTOOS Gluten Free Chocolate Sandwich Cream Cookies

  • Gluten free & dairy free. NOT vegan. Contains palm oil and has disclaimer: may contain: eggs

Great Value Gluten Free Chocolate Vanilla Crème Sandwich Cookies

  • Gluten Free, Dairy Free & Vegan

Are Regular Oreos Dairy Free?

Yes, the original Oreos are also dairy free but not gluten free. And all their flavours, like golden oreos or their specialty flavours.

One drawback of the gluten free Oreos is that there aren’t more flavours. It would be wonderful to see a gluten free peanut butter Oreo.

Dairy Free & Gluten Free Recipes to Try 

While I don’t often indulge in Oreo’s because of artificial flavors and ingredients, I still love using them in recipes. Or try making a homemade version of the gluten-free Oreo cookies.

Dairy Free Ice Cream Recipe

 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *